WePlay AniMajor Preview: Teams, Prize Pool, and More

Kyiv-based tournament organizer, WePlay Esports, will get a shot at its first-ever Valve-sponsored Major tournament, the WePlay AniMajor.

The WePlay AniMajor will run from June 2 to June 13 with a 0,000 prize pool.

The upcoming Dota 2 tournament will see 18 of the best Dota 2 teams from around the world compete in Kyiv for what's going to be the last Valve-sanctioned Dota 2 tournament before The International 10 in August.

The event will kick off on June 2 with its Wild Card stage followed by the Group Stage on June 4 and the Playoffs that will go from June 9 until June 13.

The event begins on March 27 with the Wild Card stage followed by the Group Stage on the 29th and the Main Event on the 31st, which will run through April 4.

Because this is the last Major of the Dota Pro Circuit 2021, a lot of Dota 2 teams are hoping that they'll get a high placement if not win the tournament. Otherwise, they risk having to go through the qualifiers to secure a lot at The International 10, which is not an ideal scenario.

So, which Dota 2 teams are competing at the WePlay AniMajor? How much is the prize pool? What else is at stake? Scroll down below to find out.

What’s at Stake at the WePlay AniMajor?

The WePlay AniMajor is the last Dota 2 tournament sanctioned by Valve before the start of TI10 in August.

After the ONE Esports Singapore Major 2021 back in late March, the WePlay AniMajor will serve as the final Major of the Dota Pro Circuit 2021.

The WePlay AniMajor will take place at the WePlay Esports Arena Kyiv and will feature a $500,000 prize pool with as many as 2,700 DPC points that will be split across all the 18 Dota 2 teams.

Here is a breakdown of how the prize pool will be split across all 18 Dota 2 teams:

  • 1st place - $200,000 and 500 DPC points
  • 2nd place - $100,000 and 450 DPC points
  • 3rd place - $75,000 and 400 DPC points
  • 4th place - $50,000 and 350 DPC points
  • 5th-6th place - $25,000 and 300 DPC points
  • 7th-8th place - $12,500 and 200 DPC points

The rest of the Dota 2 teams who will make it to the WePlay AniMajor will go home with zero money and DPC points outside of what they had already received as a reward for qualifying for the Dota 2 tournament.

The Competing Teams at WePlay AniMajor

The WePlay AniMajor will represent Artour "Arteezy" Babaev's last chance to win a Dota 2 Major this 2021.

The WePlay AniMajor will see 18 Dota 2 teams from around the world congregate in Kyiv for nearly two full weeks of action.

Unlike in previous years, Valve has made changes to the Dota Pro Circuit 2021 so that teams will have multiple ways to make it to a Major tournament like the WePlay AniMajor.

Below are the Playoff Seeds for the WePlay AniMajor that placed first in the Upper Division in their respective Regional Leagues:

  • Alliance - Europe
  • Virtus.Pro - CIS
  • Quincy Crew - North America
  • NoPing e-sports - South America
  • Team Aster - China
  • T1 - Southeast Asia

The following are Dota 2 teams who placed second in the Upper Division of their respective Regional Leagues and are part of the Group Stages portion of the WePlay AniMajor:

  • Team Liquid - Europe
  • Team Spirit - CIS
  • Evil Geniuses - North America
  • Beastcoast - South America
  • PSG.LGD - China
  • TNC Predator - Southeast Asia

The last six spots of the WePlay AniMajor are reserved for the Wild Card teams that placed 3rd and 4th in the Upper Division of the Regional League in Europe and China or 3rd in the Upper Division of the Regional League in CIS and Southeast Asia:

  • Team Nigma - Europe
  • Team Secret - Europe
  • AS Monaco Gambit - CIS
  • Vici Gaming - China
  • Invictus Gaming - China
  • Execration - Southeast Asia

WePlay AniMajor Tournament Format

The WePlay AniMajor tournament format is composed of three different stages. The first is the Wild Card (June 2-3), followed by the Group Stage (June 4-7), and the Playoffs (June 9-13).

For the Wild Card stage, the six Dota 2 teams will face off in a single round-robin format in best-of-two matches. The two teams with the most wins will advance straight to the Group Stages. The rest will be eliminated.

In the Group Stage, the eight Dota 2 teams, including the two Wild Card seeds, will play in another single round-robin format in best-of-two matches. However, unlike during the Wild Card stage, the top six Dota 2 teams will advance to the Playoffs portion. But, of the six, only the top two will join the Playoffs teams in the Upper Brackets. The rest will be playing in the Lower Brackets, where one loss will mean elimination.

The last and longest part of the event is the Playoffs, where the eight Dota 2 teams will fight it out in best-of-three matches in a double-elimination bracket. This will continue until the Grand Finals, where the final two Dota 2 teams will clash in a best-of-five series.

How to Watch WePlay AniMajor

If you're interested to watch the WePlay AniMajor live, you have multiple streaming options: Twitch and the Dota 2 client.

Ray Ampoloquio
Ray is a lifelong gamer with a nose for keeping up with the latest news in and out of the gaming industry. When he's not reading, writing, editing, and playing video games, he builds and repairs computers in his spare time. You can find Ray on Twitter.
Comparison List (0)
AEW Fight Forever to keep controversial wrestler, CM Punk Microsoft confirms new 10-year Call of Duty deal for Sony Black Adam could lose $100M from theatrical release Halo Infinite loses Multiplayer Creative Director Overwatch 2 makes it easier to unlock new hero BioWare drops Dragon Age: Dreadwolf trailer for Dragon Age day CD Projekt RED has officially canceled Cyberpunk 2077 multiplayer Wordle 536 for today - December 7: hints and answers The first Elden Ring DLC has been confirmed Multiple insiders tease Horizon Forbidden West DLC