Several countries ban Doctor Strange 2 over LGBTQ+ character


By Ray Ampoloquio April 24, 2022

An overseas theatrical ban might prevent Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness from blowing up as big as it should.

Egypt, Kuwait, and Saudi Arabia have all banned the second Doctor Strange film from screening in theaters.

It's not yet confirmed if the movie won't make it to box offices in Qatar well, but it is presumed that the ban extends to the said country as well.

While unfortunate, the ban is consistent with the laws in the Gulf region.

In the comic books, America Chavez is the first Latin-American gay character to star in an ongoing Marvel series.

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness will hit theaters on May 6.