Straight-shooting video game & entertainment news

PlayStation owners hail God of War: Ragnarok as Game of the Year

Santa Monica Studios gave us one of the best stories in God of War Ragnarok, as it rightfully won every PlayStation blog award it was nominated for.

god of war ragnarok
Kratos in the opening cutscene of God of War Ragnarok

According to PlayStation owners, God of War: Ragnarok is the community's choice for game of the year.

Despite just barely missing out on the prestigious award at the 2022 Game Awards, God of War: Ragnarok claimed its deserved title on the PlayStation blog. The best-selling sequel is the winner of every award it was eligible for and nominated in, despite facing hefty games such as Elden Ring and Horizon: Forbidden West. Every year the PlayStation blog hosts its own set of awards, asking the community to vote for the best games in different categories, which are available on their consoles.

Unlike the Game Awards, the PlayStation blog awards multiple games in a single category, handing out platinum, gold, silver, and bronze trophies. This coincides with the four types of trophies players can earn while playing on PlayStation consoles, with the Platinum trophy unlocking every other trophy in the game.

The PlayStation blog recently revealed the results of the community polls for the 16 fan-voted categories ‌and God of War: Ragnarok won the Game of the Year Award for both PS4 and PS5 consoles. Elden Ring won the gold trophy, Horizon: Forbidden West took home the silver and Stray won the bronze trophy for the same award on both platforms. This is likely due to all four games being cross-generation releases but nothing can discredit God of War: Ragnarok winning every award it could be nominated for, such as:

  • Best New Character for Thor (Odin took Silver)
  • Best Story
  • Best Art Direction
  • Best Graphical Showcase
  • Best Soundtrack
  • Best Audio Design
  • Best Accessibility Features 
  • Best Use of DualSense
freya ragnarok
Santa Monica Studio achieved peak production with God of War Ragnarok

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 walked away with the award for Best Multiplayer Game while Call of Duty Warzone 2.0 beat out Fortnite and Final Fantasy XIV for Best Ongoing Game. In addition to this, Gran Turismo 7 was crowned the best Sports Game of the year as Stray is the winner for Best Independent Game. Finally, the most anticipated game of 2023 turned out to be Hogwarts Legacy, followed by Resident Evil 4, Marvel's Wolverine, and Assassin's Creed Mirage. It’s interesting to see that Marvel’s Spider-Man 2 didn’t win a single award in this category, suggesting PlayStation users have cooled off on the franchise.

Speaking of PlayStation, the platform's first big exclusive is coming out on January 24. You can check out the free-to-play demo of the Square Enix game on the PS5.

Related Topics


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scott Kostov

Scott Kostov // Articles: 129

A passion for writing and gaming has propelled Scott down the path of content creation. When he isn't scouring every known source on the internet for information, he's a track addict vibing to music in the countryside of sunny Macedonia. Link up with Scott on Twitter and Steam.
Comparison List (0)