Quake featured image

The roots

One of the classic representatives of the first-person shooter genre. Designed and released in 1996 by the authors of the groundbreaking game Doom - iD Software. This is the first game to start the still ongoing series. Unlike its famous predecessor, the game uses an engine capable of rendering full-fledged 3D: the game supports an earlier version of 3D acceleration through OpenGL. After moving to a new engine, the game needed a new control scheme: the movement is now possible in all three directions, including the vertical axis. This feature added to the game an additional difficulty: player have to expect the enemy attack from any direction. The game also has a full-fledged multiplayer, the previous version of which the Doom players liked.

Key features

In a single player campaign, the player takes control of the main character named Ranger, who went to the portal in order to stop the unknown enemies, code-named Quake. The plot of the adventure consists of 32 separate levels. Six more maps are available in multiplayer for the battles between the players for deathmatch mayhem. Two mission packs were released for the game, which adds new enemies, new levels, new maps, new weapons and a new experience for players to the original game. Both packs were greatly received by both players and critics.

Release Date

Jun 22, 1996

Metacritic Score



Achievements Count




Play Time

5.5 hours

Games in Series



Mature 17+: Blood and Gore, Violence

System Requirements


  • CPU: Intel Core i5-3570 @3.4 GHz or AMD Ryzen 3 1300X @3.5 GHz
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 TI (2GB) or AMD HD 7750 (1GB)
  • HDD: 2 GB


  • CPU: Intel Core i5-6600k @3.5 GHz or AMD Ryzen 5 1600 @3.2 GHz
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 (8GB) or AMD RX Vega 56 (8GB)
  • HDD: 2 GB

Interesting Facts

  • In the game, players must find their way through various maze-like, medieval environments while battling monsters using an array of weaponry.
  • Quake added various multiplayer options.
  • The Quake engine offered full real-time 3D rendering and had early support for 3D acceleration through OpenGL.
  • In Quake’s single-player mode, players explore levels, facing monsters and finding secret areas before reaching an exit.
  • Quake’s single-player campaign is organized into four individual episodes with seven to eight levels in each.
  • In multiplayer mode, players on several computers connect to a server, where they can either play the single-player campaign together in co-op (cooperative) mode, or play against each other in multiplayer.
  • The player takes the role of the unnamed protagonist, named Ranger.
  • The single-player campaign consists of 30 separate levels, or “maps”, divided into four episodes

Mod Support


Cheats support


Contains Game/Battle Pass






Virtual Reality Support


Number of maps


Third/First Person

First person

Game Engine

Quake engine

Protagonist sex


Similar Games

Alternative Games