Grim Fandango

Grim Fandango featured image

Grim Fandango is an adventure game developed by LucasArts Entertainment. It was originally released in 1998. LucasArts Entertainment published the game. On review aggregator Metacritic, Grim Fandango has a score of 94. Most rawgers rated the game as "Exceptional".
Grim Fandango is available on PC.
It was directed by Tim Schafer. Peter McConnell scored the game.

Release Date

Oct 14, 1998


Play Time

11 hours

Games in Series



Teen: Animated Violence, Use of Alcohol and Tobacco, and Suggestive Themes

System Requirements

  • CPU: Pentium 133 or faster required
  • RAM: 32 MB
  • GPU: DirectX 6 compatible 2 MB PCI Graphic card required
  • HDD: 30 MB

Interesting Facts

  • It is the first adventure game by LucasArts to use 3D computer graphics overlaid on pre-rendered static backgrounds.
  • Grim Fandango is set in the Land of the Dead.
  • The story follows travel agent Manuel “Manny” Calavera as he attempts to save new arrival Mercedes “Meche” Colomar, a virtuous soul, on her journey.
  • The game combines elements of the Aztec afterlife with film noir style.
  • The remastered edition allows control via a mouse as well.
  • The player can never die or otherwise get into a no-win situation.
  • Grim Fandango takes place in the Land of the Dead (the Eighth Underworld), where recently departed souls aim to make their way to the Land of Eternal Rest (the Ninth Underworld) on the Four Year Journey of the Soul.
  • The souls in the Land of the Dead appear as skeletal calaca figures.
  • The game is divided into four acts.
  • The game featured a large cast for voice acting in the game’s dialog and cutscenes.

Cheats support


Contains Game/Battle Pass


Virtual Reality Support


Number of maps


Game Engine


Protagonist sex


Similar Games

Alternative Games