Final Fantasy (1987)

Final Fantasy (1987) featured image

Final Fantasy is a fantasy role-playing video game developed and published by Square in 1987. It is the first game in Square's Final Fantasy series, created by Hironobu Sakaguchi. Originally released for the NES, Final Fantasy was remade for several video game consoles and is frequently packaged with Final Fantasy II in video game collections. The story follows four youths called the Light Warriors, who each carry one of their world's four elemental orbs which have been darkened by the four Elemental Fiends. Together, they quest to defeat these evil forces, restore light to the orbs, and save their world.


Final Fantasy has four basic game modes: an overworld map, town and dungeon maps, a battle screen, and a menu screen.

Visuals and other features

Final Fantasy was originally conceived under the working title Fighting Fantasy, but trademark issues and dire circumstances surrounding Square as well as Sakaguchi himself prompted the name to be changed. The game was a great commercial success, received generally positive reviews, and spawned many successful sequels and supplementary titles in the form of the Final Fantasy series. The original is now regarded as one of the most influential and successful role-playing games on the Nintendo Entertainment System, playing a major role in popularizing the genre. Critical praise focused on the game's graphics, while criticism targeted the time spent wandering in search of random battle encounters to raise the player's experience level. By March 2003, all versions of the original Final Fantasy had sold a combined total of two million copies worldwide.

Release Date

Dec 17, 1987

Metacritic Score



Play Time

16.5 hours

Games in Series




System Requirements


  • CPU: Intel Core i3-3225
  • RAM: 4 GB
  • GPU: Intel HD 4000
  • HDD: 1 GB


  • CPU: Intel Core i3-2105
  • RAM: 4 GB
  • GPU: Intel HD 3000
  • HDD: 1 GB

Interesting Facts

  • It is the first game in Square’s Final Fantasy series.
  • The first Final Fantasy story follows four youths called the Warriors of Light.
  • Final Fantasy has four basic game modes: an Overworld map, town and dungeon maps, a battle screen, and a menu screen.
  • The game’s plot develops as the player progresses through towns and dungeons.
  • Combat in Final Fantasy is menu-based: the player selects an action from a list of options such as Attack, Magic, and Item.
  • There are six classes: Fighter, Thief, Black Belt, Red Mage, White Mage, and Black Mage.
  • Spells are divided into two groups: White, which is defensive and healing, and Black, which is debilitating and destructive.
  • Final Fantasy takes place in a fantasy world with three large continents.
  • The elemental powers of this world are determined by the state of four crystals, each governing one of the four classical elements: earth, fire, water, and wind.
  • Final Fantasy has been well received by critics and commercially successful.

Mod Support


Cheats support




Family/Child Friendly


Number of maps


Third/First Person

First person



Protagonist sex


Similar Games

Alternative Games