Destiny featured image

Destiny is a first-person shooter featuring MMO-elements with much attention paid to online raids and shared-world mechanics. It is the first game in the series produced by Bungie — the studio is mostly known as the Halo series creator — and followed by Destiny 2, released three years afterward. The original title also has 4 DLC packs.


The game is centered around the Guardian — main playable character divided into three classes: Hunters. Warlocks and Titans, each with unique abilities. The main peculiarity is interfering in other's games. Nonetheless, unlike other MMOs, the game does not include communication with all of the server — just with the team that is matched for him or her.

Visuals and other features

The game emphasizes PvE and PvP types of play the first one being divided into strikes and raids, while the latter is the typical FPS multiplayer type. Strikes are the quests played by three characters with the boss in the end. Raids, on the other hand, are story-related, implement six players and also contain boss in the end.

Release Date

Sep 09, 2014

Metacritic Score



Achievements Count




Play Time

12 hours

Games in Series



Teen: Animated Blood, Violence

System Requirements

PlayStation 4:

  • HDD: 55 GB

Xbox One:

  • HDD: 50 GB

PlayStation 3:

  • HDD: 18 GB

Xbox 360:

  • HDD: 16 GB

Interesting Facts

  • Destiny marked Bungie’s first new console franchise since the Halo series, and it was the first game in a ten-year agreement between Bungie and Activision.
  • The game features a multiplayer “shared-world” environment with elements of role-playing games.
  • Activities in Destiny are divided among player versus environment (PvE) and player versus player (PvP) game types.
  • Players take on the role of a Guardian, protectors of Earth’s last safe city as they wield a power called Light to protect the City from different alien races.
  • Destiny includes on-the-fly matchmaking that allows players to communicate only with other players with whom they are “matched” by the game.
  • There are also PvP maps for Mars’s moon Phobos and the planet Mercury.
  • Destiny features three character classes: Hunters, Warlocks, and Titans.
  • There are six armor slots: helmet, gauntlets, chest, legs, class item, and artifact.
  • Players can pledge their allegiance to one of three factions — Dead Orbit, Future War Cult, or New Monarchy.
  • PvE features three-player “strikes” and six-player raids.
  • PvP features objective-based modes, as well as traditional deathmatch game modes.
  • The Crucible, which can have a maximum of twelve players depending on game type, contains playlists of PvP modes, including “Control”, “Clash”, “Rumble”, and “Skirmish”.
  • Bungie described the setting of Destiny as a “mythic science-fiction” world.
  • The setting, about 700 years in the future, follows a prosperous period of exploration, peace, and technological advancement known as the Golden Age.

Mod Support


Cheats support




LGBTQ Inclusive


Virtual Reality Support


Number of maps


Third/First Person

First person

Game Engine

Tiger Engine

Protagonist sex


Similar Games

Alternative Games