Beyond Oasis (1994)

Beyond Oasis (1994) featured image

Beyond Oasis, known in Japan as The Story of Thor: Hikari wo Tsugu Mono (ストーリー オブ トア 〜光を継ぐ者〜, "The Story of Thor: Heir of the Light") and in Europe as The Story of Thor: A Successor of The Light, is a 1994 Action-adventure video game developed by Ancient and published by Sega for the Mega Drive/Genesis console. The game was later re-released to the Wii's Virtual Console on March 19, 2007 in North America, and April 5 the same year in Europe. The game was also included in Sonic's Ultimate Genesis Collection/Sega Mega Drive Ultimate Collection for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3; in the European version of the latter, it is entitled The Story of Thor. In 2017, the game was ported to iOS and Android as part of SEGA's SEGA Forever service.

Release Date

Dec 12, 1994



Play Time

6 hours

Games in Series



Everyone 10+: Animated Violence

System Requirements


  • CPU: Intel Pentium 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2 GB
  • GPU: 32 MB or greater graphics card
  • HDD: 50 MB


  • CPU: Intel i3-2100 / AMD Phenom II X4 940 / equivalent dual core CPU
  • GPU: NVidia GeForce GTX 280 / ATI Radeon HD 6630 / equivalent DirectX 9c or higher 1GB VRam
  • HDD: 50 MB

Interesting Facts

  • A prequel to the game, The Legend of Oasis.
  • The player takes the role of Prince Ali, who has discovered a buried gold “armlet” which once belonged to a wizard who waged a long war against the evil wielder of a silver armlet.
  • The gold armlet had the power to summon four spirits: the water spirit, “Dytto”; the fire spirit, “Efreet”; the shadow spirit, “Shade”; and the plant spirit, “Bow”.
  • The game has action adventure elements similar to The Legend of Zelda series.
  • Beyond Oasis is known in Japan and Europe as The Story of Thor: A Successor of the Light.

Mod Support


Cheats support


Family/Child Friendly


Number of maps


Protagonist sex


Similar Games

Alternative Games