Sony Announces April 29 State of Play Showcase


Sony Interactive Entertainment just announced that they will be hosting a new State of Play live stream on April 29.

April 29 State of Play Dates and Times

As we've already mentioned, the upcoming State of Play showcase is scheduled for April 29, 2021.

Expect to see more of Rivet, who seems to be a new protagonist for Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart, in the April 29 State of Play event.

Here are the estimated start times for the 15-minute showcase:

  • 2:00 PM PT
  • 5:00 PM ET
  • 10:00 PM BST
  • 7:00 AM AET (April 30)

What to Expect from the April 29 State of Play Showcase

With the way things are going, we wouldn't be surprised if Insomniac Games makes a spin-off title of the Ratchet & Clank series that revolves mostly around Rivet.

Insomniac Games' Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart will take center stage in the upcoming State of Play live stream. One of Sony's more prominent first-party studios, Insomniac Games will take this opportunity to showcase at least 15 minutes of new gameplay footage for the upcoming PS5 exclusive, on top of Sony's latest trailer that revealed the new protagonist, Rivet, for the first time.

However, going by the YouTube description, the April 29 State of Play event will include more than just Rift Apart. In addition to Ratchet & Clank's latest outing, Sony is also expected to show off at least two indie games on April 29.

If this announcement caught you off guard, you're not alone. Many were surprised to see Sony announce that a new State of Play was coming. Even more so given that this one is much shorter than previous outings. But, then again, this explains why Sony didn't make a dedicated PlayStation Blog post to announce the upcoming showcase. Instead, Sony dropped the details at the bottom of the new trailer for Rift Apart.

MORE:  Insomniac Games Art Director Hints at Spider-Man 2

Sony's most recent State of Play was held last February. The previous event had a much longer runtime at 30 minutes, giving players updates on several upcoming PS4 and PS5 titles, namely Deathloop, Returnal, and Final Fantasy 7 Remake: Intergrade.

How to Watch the April 29 State of Play Showcase

Sony will broadcast the April 29 State of Play via the official YouTube and Twitch channels of PlayStation.

Ray Ampoloquio
Ray is based in the Philippines. He is a lifelong gamer and a PC hardware enthusiast. He builds and repairs laptops and computers for friends and family in his spare time. You can find Ray on Twitter.